Valentino Poncho (as seen at Housing Works 17th Street)

January 22, 2011 § 1 Comment

Look what I came across today while volunteering at Housing Works:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s a mustard-color knit with brown trim, brown collar, and brown cuffs.  Wide sleeves.  It’s got a zip front with a brown and mustard yarn tassel hanging from the zipper.  It was $40.  I considered buying it.  But it was really ugly!  I was really dreading coming home to discover it’s selling on Ebay for $800.  But I don’t see it anywhere.  Whew!

Anyone know what year this is from?

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Valentino Poncho (as seen at Housing Works 17th Street)

  • […] It seems as if Housing Works is growing like gangbusters these days, which I hope is a sign that recycled and re-purposed — and sometimes vintage — clothing is a trend that is here to stay.  They just opened up a new Housing Works in my neighborhood, and I feel as if 96th St. has become a veritable thrift-store Mecca.  The new Housing Works on Broadway between 96th and 97th is still putting the finishing touches on the facade, but the store is fully operational.  I’ve popped in a couple times.  HW has some finds sometimes, but many of the locations focus mostly on furniture.  I volunteered for them for a few months last fall, but I had to give it up because I was trying to launch Vintrowear.  The 17th St. store has a huge selection of clothes, and occasionally I came across some cool vintage and/or designer finds.  Case in point this Valentino poncho. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Valentino Poncho (as seen at Housing Works 17th Street) at Vintrowear.

meta

