Give them 5!

August 2, 2010 § 2 Comments

I just discovered that there’s a program called Gimme 5 that recycles #5 plastics (which includes yogurt containers.)  And, even better, Whole Foods, including my local Whole Foods on Columbus Ave, is a Gimme 5 recycling station!  I had been avoiding both Whole Foods AND yogurt: Whole Foods because they are so Yupper West Side and annoyingly crammed full of screaming children whose mothers attempt to reason them out of tantrums by having adult conversations with them (ineffective), and yogurt because there was no way to recycle the containers.  But one needs one’s probiotics, so I am happy now to have found a solution.  I just called the Columbus Ave. Whole Foods to confirm they have a Gimme 5 bin, and they do.  Yey.  They also sell Dan’s brand of milk, as well as soy creamer, for much cheaper than the grocery stores on Broadway.  So I guess I am willing to make the hike.  Whole Paycheck, I will give you another shot, and all because of your recycle bins.  Other retail stores: let this be a lesson to you.

But now here’s another issue.  I like Fage yogurt.  It’s not #5.  According to their website:

Solid waste – Recycling
We encourage any attempt to solve the global problem of solid waste. We believe that recycling is one of the solutions to be attained and this is why we participate in the Hellenic Retrieval and Recycling Company whose object is to develop solutions for solid waste recycling, in accordance with relevant directives. Moreover, we design our products packaging so as to minimize consumption of raw materials and ensure their recyclability. Recyclable waste materials from the manufacturing process are sorted in the plant into paper, plastic and metals and delivered to licensed recycling facilities. We are also collecting for recycling all secondary paper packaging and wooden pallets used in then plant, while organic matter is used for composting. As part of its action to encourage recycling, FAGE participates in a waste batteries recycling program, in cooperation with a company approved by the Ministry for the Environment, Land Planning and Public Works, by means of special battery collection containers.

But I think they are actually, like, Greek (the “Hellenic Retrieval” thing gave it away), so maybe that have different recycling standards and programs in Greece.  I think I could be persuaded to like a different kind of yogurt that comes in a #5.

Hey, look what this lady has to say about yogurt and yogurt containers.  And I thought I was obsessed with this topic.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Give them 5!

  • This just in, I wrote to the Fage US people, and they responded with a very nice email saying their containers are in fact #5. I didn’t see a stamp on the container, but what do I know. I dutifully washed it out and took it home. Now I have to figure out what to do with it until I make the long walk to Whole Foods. Dan’s famed Trash Management System already has top billing in our kitchen. Where is my trash to go? Dan suggested my closet, with all my other junk. I fear roaches could become a problem…

  • Sarah Jane says:

    Make your own! No plastic! Here’s how I’ve done it:
    Set aside, in the fridge, a couple of tablespoons of the yogurt you like. Get a kind of milk you like (in reusable glass bottles!). Put it in a clean pot and warm over a low flame. When it’s, oh, a little warmer than room temperature, turn off the flame and stir in the two tablespoons of yogurt — it mixes easier if you add some of the warm milk to the yogurt first to thin it before adding it to the pot. Put the lid on the pot and put the pot in a warm place for, say, overnight. I put mine in the oven, whose pilot light is always lit, making the oven warm enough when closed for the cultures to work their magic. I’ll bet it would work even in a cooler place than that. Next thing you know, there’s yogurt, and it tastes like the yogurt you started with. (And if you like yours thicker, try straining it in cheesecloth, or look online to see how else to make it thicker so you don’t have to do another step.)

    There are tons of instructionals online with more exacting measurements and timeframes. And since yogurt can last for a couple/few months (refrigerated), you can make enough for a while and not have to do it again for a while. When I was visiting a hot clime with no refrigeration, the yogurt was made every few days like this. I don’t think it was even kept in a warm place overnight – “room temp” was probably warm enough.

    My cheap two cents.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Give them 5! at Vintrowear.

meta

