Earth: 1; Humans: 1

July 2, 2010 § 1 Comment

It’s confusing when you see the following stories side by side:

A downside to the recovering ozone layer

Couple funds wedding with recycled cans

Like, it’s hard to keep score, you know?  

Actually I think it might be Earth: 2; Humans: Zip, depending on Earth’s goal.  If Earth’s goal is to eradicate its annoying infestation of humans, it might be winning.

I personally have kicked my anti-plastic plan into high gear after reading this

I found that it’s not so easy though.  Like, the other day, I was shopping at the Health Nut store up on 98th (the health food store on 96th went out of business – again!  What gives?)  Health Nut sells this tasty organic yogurt from a local dairy.  But it’s in a plastic container.  Am I going to have to give up yogurt?  Plastic is so ubiquitous.  And when you’re out and about in NYC, it’s almost impossible to avoid it unless you bring an entire picnic basket of tupperware and stainless steel bottles with you everywhere you go.  Many of the the ideas suggested by Fake Plastic Fish aren’t really feasible for a working person who doesn’t live in the suburbs or the country.  Like, seriously, who has time to make their own shampoo?  Or the ability to compost in their NYC apartment?  Maty our new cleaning lady is quite possible an angel and a saint, but I’m sure she would balk at my suggestion to stop buying cleaning supplies in plastic bottles, and make our own instead out of baking soda and vinegar.  (Separately, not mixed together, I mean.  I think that might cause an explosion.)  I’ll just have to try my best to avoid “disposable” plastic, and live with the guilt when I can’t. 

I was cheered by the Electrolux news, though.  I wish more companies and organizations would get on board.  When I start thinking about how impossible it will be to stop the plastic avalanche, I start feeling dismal about our hopes.  Maybe eventually it will entirely cover the earth, and we’ll just have to live on top of a giant shifting pile of plastic bits.  There’s a nice apocalyptic image for you!

Does anyone know how I can get involved in a political effort against plastic like the one in Cambridge?  I know, everyone will say, “Why don’t you start your own?”  That seems counter-productive.  I want to lend a hand to a large organization or movement that has a chance of succeeding through sheer numbers, not expend a lot of energy being a one-woman-force.

Anyways, there’s my rant for today.  What do you think of True Blood lately?  Honestly, I think it might have crossed a line of creepy last week with Bill twisting Lorena’s neck around.  Ew.  Like, I know she’s an evil immortal vampire and all, but there was a real nasty rape element to that scene that completely creeped me out.  I may have to bail on the show.  Will watch one more episode before deciding.

You’re probably wondering how my knitting is coming along.  Forgot to mention that in California I made like 3 more squares.  Complicated lace ones too.  Turned out good, will get some photos up soon.  I also started a new something for a someone who deserves a gift.  Can’t elaborate in case this someone is reading.  I want this someone to be surprised.

I’ve been trying to draw more too.  Will definitely not be posting pictures, because I pretty much suck, but when I practice more I suck less.  I’ve been drawing my own foot a lot for lack of other models.  I think next I’m going to try drawing some comic book dudes.  I took a shot at Wonder Woman the other day (not literally, she would have blocked it with those fancy bracelets), which was really coincidental because the NEXT day they came out with her new look.  Weird, right?  Ok, nanu nanu, I’m heading to Jersey for some holiday fun.  Wish me luck with the public transportation.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Earth: 1; Humans: 1

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Earth: 1; Humans: 1 at Vintrowear.

meta

