Summer luvin’

June 27, 2010 § 1 Comment

Oh Lordy, it’s been over a month since my last blog post!  Bad Megan.  But I have a good excuse.  I went to California for a week.  Then I caught a cold.  Then I enjoyed approximately 90% of New York City’s entertainment options at the rate of 3-4 events per week.  Seriously.  It was quite a lot.  I put the new camera into overtime, but I managed to narrow down the photos to a mere 31.  It wasn’t an easy editing process.  But let’s start with the most recent and work our ways backwards.

Last night I got to do one my most favoritist things in the whole world:

Can you guess what it was?  You got it!  I had so much fun I can barely even articulate.  It is one of the few occasions where I feel completely comfortable to let loose and shake my ass like nobody’s business!  Literally.

I’m talking about the Grateful Dead, people.  After a wonky encounter with a Deadhead on the D train, I have learned that there’s a difference now between The Dead and Further.  Honestly I could care less.  They will always be my boys no matter what they’re calling themselves these days!

I heard there was a lunar eclipse last night.  I didn’t see it, but we did scope out this amazing moon framed by some good old fashioned Coney Island neon.  Gorgeous.

Continuing our journey backwards through time, last Monday we had the singular pleasure of watching our friend Cynthia Babak perform her amazing comedy routine with partner Michael Huston, “Babes in the Woods.”

They were hilarious!  They are truly masters of the funny faces.  My super-camera (if I do say so myself) barely does justice to the crazy expressions they pulled.

The weekend before we decided to put our new table through its paces at a Barney Greengrass brunch.  Verdict: it can indeed hold 13 people.  The living room, however, struggled a bit.

Next time we’ll have to remove some furniture.  Speaking of the Greengrass, I sent some to my dad for father’s day.  He said it was tasty, and I can guarantee it’s not something you usually get in rural Montana.  Gary Greengrass was awesome in helping me make the selection and making sure Fed Ex would deliver out to the wild west.  Waking up for our brunch was not easy, because the night before the aforementioned brunch, we went out with Adam and Anna and tied one on.  We all had a hankering for lobster, and we wanted to celebrate the birthday of the fabulous Anna, so we checked out Ed’s Charter House in Lincoln Center.  I heard good things about it, and they did not lie.

Afterwards, drunk and silly, we posed for photo ops in front of my all time favorite building.

I know not everyone feels the same about this edifice, but nothing takes my breath away like those Chagals.  And they’ve got neato light-up stairs now.  Afterwards we came across… wait for it… a troupe of girls from the Ballet School of Turkey!  How cute were they.  Dan asked for the photo and they all immediately dropped their ballet bags and leapt into a pose.  Cute as buttons.

Previous to that, our friend Avalon Zimmerman was in town, performing with her band Folklore.  On the hottest day of the year we decided to wander about Manhattan looking at those freaky naked statues around Madison Square Park.  Some discretion was advised.

And previous to THAT (we’re going backwards through time, remember) Dan and I went to see Hair!  Long beautiful hair.  Where I had my stage debut:

I had never seen it and I’d always wanted to.  When we heard it was closing we thought we’d better jump on it.  I love musicals, Dan not so much, but we both had a blast.

And if you can believe it, that same week we went to see one of our new favorite bands, The Heavy.  We were pleasantly surprised to discover that our friend Jenny’s boyfriend, saxophonist Justin Flynn was featured in the horn section!

Ok, the super-cam struggled a bit with the low lighting.  But rest assured the show rocked.  Afterwards, we got to schmooze with the stars:

One of the great things about summer is all the birthdays and anniversaries going on.  Adam and Anna are June/July, and we’re all rocking June wedding anniversaries.  Adam celebrated his birthday with a barbeque at Belmont.  Dan manned the grill,

While the rest of us enjoyed the races:

We all looked fabulous.

But I can’t say any of us won big.

Our next and final stop on our journey counterclockwise is sunny California.  Good old California.  Land of fruits and nuts.  Dual home to legalized pot and raging right-wing Republicans.  From whence I came.  Right back where I started from.  To which we went with achin’s in our hearts.  We took our chances on a big jet plane, and boy was it worth it!  I’ve got more, but I will spare you.  What a great week we had.  Laughed, I thought we’d never stop.  We got to see friends and family and music and scenery.  We were so fricking exhausted that when we got home we needed a vacation from our vacation.  I of course caught a gnarly cold immediately upon disembarking at JFK.  But enough about that.  Without further ado, I give you, California.

We kicked off the week with some Palac-Rice Family action.  Dan took Marson to a baseball game while the girls hit the ice.  There’s not much old stuff in California, particularly when compared to the east coast, but what is old really stands out in a kitchy-cool sort of way.  Culver City Ice Rink is one such place.

We all donned our tutus (what else?) for the occasion.

Next up was Dan’s favorite band of all time, Nada Surf at the Troubador.

I do believe I am now losing track of the chronology of events, but somewhere in there we saw at least one more show at the Troubador, with special guests including Lisa and Andrew, Michael and Krista, Lisa and Mark and LG, Eric and Heidi, and many others!  Dan also headed down to San Diego with his pals Jack and Kevin to see them one more time.  While Dan was in San Diego, I braved the freeways to make my way cautiously to San Bernardino to visit my cousin Jeanne-Marie.  JM is a fashion designer extraordinaire, and I highly recommend you check her out Cat Chloe and FeraL collections.  I’m no expert in Burning Man style, but I hear she’s all the rage.  Here I am modeling one of her creations:

And here’s another snazzy example of her work:

We had the good fortune to stay at our friend Dave’s place in Venice, a freaky neighborhood if I ever saw one!

But Dave’s place was awesome and we got to dog-sit his really cool dog Travis.  Later in the week I got to turn the car back over to Dan’s more capable hands while I hopped Amtrak up to SLO-Town to visit my college buddies A and K.  The Coastliner is one of my guilty pleasures.  The view from the window is spectacular.

What more could one ask for in a vacation?  Not having to drive, and a spectacular view, for a low low price of $79 per roundtrip ticket.  K&A’s scenery certainly doesn’t suck either:

Then it was back down south for fish tacos, more friends, a tour of KROQ by none other than Mike Crank, and then we left.  On a jet plane.  Don’t know when we’ll be back again.  But who can stay away from this for long:

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Summer luvin’

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Summer luvin’ at Vintrowear.

meta

