Yey! New toy!

May 6, 2010 § Leave a comment

My awesome husband got me a new camera as an early anniversary present (coming up on 10 years!)  I’m really excited about it because I’ve been wanting to take more/better pictures.  It’s a Canon SX210 IS.  Dan had sent me a bunch of stuff to read on how to choose a new camera, but I couldn’t understand a single word.  I’m going with more of a zen approach to photos than actually knowing anything about photography technologically.  So yesterday was its first test spin out in the open air.  I was riding my bike home from work and I saw this dude in Battery Park:

 

Ok, I haven’t quite mastered the camera yet, but I think for a first daylight photo sequence, I’m pretty happy!  My 2 requests to Dan were a good zoom and takes good action shots.  This was a zoom/action shot combo!  I’ve passed my previous camera on to Dan, whose previous camera is suffering some sort of break-down.  I’m also happy because I’m usually the recipient in our family of the hand-me-down technology.  But this time I get something first!  Yey me!

Ok, it’s the first half of the month, and I’m buckling down on invoices.  But I’m ducking out early on this gloriously warm and sunny day to indulge my hypochondria with a physical a la Dr. N.  I get to pay a whole gob of money to bitch about my allergies, heartburn, and scoliosis!  I’m excited!  A captive audience, who may even actually be interested in my many supposed-ailments.  And hopefully I’ll walk away with some potent allery meds.  I’ve been telling everyone who sneezes, wheezes, or whines about allergies (which includes the majority of the library staff!) to read this op ed from the NYT.  Puts a whole new perspective on it.  Stupid trees!  (Just kidding, trees.  I love you guys, really, don’t go all LOTR on me.) 

So here’s my exercise tally for the week thus far: Monday, nothing; Tuesday jogging with my friend J; Wednesday, bike ride to and from work.  Tonight’s tai chi.  Sensei Lenny said I could start coming to the Saturday practice in the park.  I’ve gone twice now.  It’s lovely.  Even though I don’t know the whole form yet.  But he told me to wing it, so that’s nice too.  Weather has been spectacular and there’s petals all over the ground and it all feels very Eastern.  Hopefully that will help my chi!  Sensei (who probably hates the idea of being called Sensei!) is always smoothing out my fingers.  I think my fingers are all kinked up at the knuckles and they’re stoppering up my chi.

Ok, nanu nanu, Bloggy, talk to you later.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Yey! New toy! at Vintrowear.

meta

