A Highly Successful Weekend

April 19, 2010 § 1 Comment

On my way to pick up snacks for our road trip to visit our friend Paul at his awesome beach house in Delaware, I noticed this in the window of Dr. Stuart Blankman’s optometrist office:

Pretty…

We got on the road with nary a hitch, not running as late as we usually are.  A passing rainstorm was gone by the time we hit the tunnel.  I finished off a square for my Chemawa School blanket.  Turned out way too big though.  I needed a 6″ square.  The pattern said it would turn out to be 6 3/4 inches, and I figured since I’m a tight knitter it wouldn’t be too bad.  But it turned out gargantuan.  Not sure what I’m going to do with it.  I have a feeling this blanket is not going to end up being grid-like, but instead might be a free-for-all.

As promised, dear Bloggy, on the trip down I worked on a very warm gray wool baby booty.  I didn’t quite finish it by the time we got to Paul’s, but all I had left was the sole.

Of course, the real highlight of the trip was the Mennonite furniture store, whose name I can’t remember or I would give them a shout out, to pick up our table.  Heritage Something-or-Other.  Just south of Smyrna.  I highly recommend them.  The table was everything we could have desired in a table.  It shone like a beacon.  I had just sat down in my favorite hand-crafted rocking chair, when I looked over and saw this vision:

I thought to myself, what a great-looking table, that looks just like something we would pick out.  Then I thought to myself, that must be our table!  We waxed enthusiastic about it while Fred, the nice man who runs the store, helped some other customers.

Then Dan and Fred loaded it up into our mini-rental-van:

Where we ceremoniously place our first bottle of wine upon it:

(There’s a bottle of wine in that bag, I swear.)

And we were back on the road, hurtling towards Middlesex Beach.  Later that night, after a nap (Dan), a glass of wine (me), and a beer (Paul), we headed to Mickey’s for a deee-licious crab dinner:

(Photo credit goes to Paul and his cell phone, documenting the meal for the lovely Cynthia, holding down the fort back in Brooklyn.)

The next day, while Dan and Paul were picking up yet another table (it was Weekend of the Table!) from Paul’s storage for us to tote back into the city, I finished up Booty #1, and made serious inroads on Booty #2:

Which I then finished on the drive home.  Whew!

We were happy to see Lebowski back at the ranch.  He’s very excited about a disassembled table in the middle of the living room.  And that’s the story of how we acquired a new table and finished a pair of very warm gray wool baby booties, all in a span of 36 hours.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to A Highly Successful Weekend

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Highly Successful Weekend at Vintrowear.

meta

