Lost in lower Manhattan

April 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’m not sure I have the ego to maintain a blog.  I’ve got plenty of stuff to say, but I’m not sure any of it’s interesting to anyone else but me.  Although not having anything interesting to say hasn’t stopped droves of people from blogging.  Also, I think my lack of anonymity might be hindering me.  A lot of what I’m thinking is not fit for public consumption.

Well, so here’s everything (clean, not law-suit worthy, and friendly) that’s in my head this fine Tax Day, besides “I’m the tax man, yeah-eah the tax man.”  My 2 train this morning made a big deal out of switching to the local track before Chambers.  Lots of announcements as it pulled into the local side about how for Brooklyn service, get off, wait on the platform for a Brooklyn-bound 2 train because this train is going to Rector then coming back uptown.  (Rector?  I didn’t even know her!)  This is like the 3rd or 4th time it’s done that.  I mean, it’s fine, I can walk from Rector, but what gets me, is if the train is on the local side, wouldn’t you make an announcements pertaining to the local service?  What about South Ferry??  Seriously, each time the train does this, it never makes an announcement about South Ferry.  I feel as a South Ferry-bound passenger, my needs are not being met.  Anyways, since I’m used to this foolish train letting me off at Rector now, I have a usual exit.  But today I decided to mix it up and go out a different exit, to see if it would get me closer.  It did not.  I got lost.  But it was a beautiful day, and I wandered about a bit until I located myself near Trinity Church where some moronic business woman was flinging bucketfulls of bird seed to the pigeons in the cemetery.  Why do that?  Everyone hates pigeons!  Don’t encourage them.  But the cemetery was full of tulips, so I’m hoping that the birds and the bees and the mouldering-bodies-as-fertilizer action will spark some sort of nature-goodness cycle, and something positive might happen in our lower Manhattan mini-ecosystem.

I’m trying to use up all the yarn in my closet.  I have a giant plastic bag of yarn that blocks my way to my clothes.  My closet door also off its hinges and resting on the wall, hooks removed, preventing me from using it as an auxiliary closet like I usually do.  But that’s another story.  For the last 2 years I’ve been very good about not buying yarn (except for a few, very very small exceptions, shh, don’t tell Dan) and instead trying to use up what I have.  It’s not easy, because I am now down to the partial skeins and unfinished objects.  I’m trying to make a pair of booties for some friends in California.  I wanted to use cotton, even though I dislike knitting with cotton (hurts my hands), because I think wool might be too warm for California babies.  I have 3/4 of a skein of navy cotton, and I started knitting a booty on some #7’s.  Even altering the pattern to use less yarn, I’d barely finished the, whaddyacallit, the stretchy part that goes around the ankle, when I realized there wasn’t enough yarn for 1 booty, let alone 2.  Damnit, how am I supposed to use up a partial skein of navy cotton?  It’s not enough to make anything!  I have 2 balls of delicious gray wool from my friend Judy’s sheep farm in Montana, leftover from the “troops” blanket.  But is gray ok for baby booties?  And is wool ok for California?  I’ve got some beige Peruvian highland wool from Elann.  Is beige ok for babies?  It’s a boy baby, if that makes any difference.  Ok, I admit, I have plenty of light blue fingerling cashmere left.  But I’m tired of knitting booties on #2’s.  I want to use some human being sized needles.  And I’ve got to figure out how to use up all these bits and pieces in my closet so I can buy more yarn.  More and more and more yarn.  Love yarn.

I’m also starting another blanket.  I want to give this one to the Chemawa DAR school in Oregon.  I wanted it to be for a teenage girl.  I got so tired of gray and beige (my desert storm camo colors!)  So I wanted to do a really girly blanket in pinks and purples and hearts and flowers.  But I’ve now used up most of my girly colors and I’ve only finished, like, 8 little 6″ squares.  I’m doing little squares this time instead of big, because I think it’s more fun to move them about, like a collage, before I sew it all together.  So I think I’m gonna have to mix some remnant pinks and purples into some gray and beige squares.  They’ll at least have an essance of girly colors.  But it’s going to totally fuck up my color scheme that I was going for.  I wanted it to look more monochromatic (duochromatic.)  I’ll have to take some photos so you see what I mean.  I’m not quite in the habit of photo-blogging yet.  I have to work on that.  Should have photo’d the pigeon cemetery lady this morning.  Ok, I’ll wax ad nauseum about yarn a little later.  Sorry for the boring post.  If something interesting happens to me in the near future, I promise I’ll tell you about.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lost in lower Manhattan at Vintrowear.

meta

