As seen on Yahoo news, which I’ve tried to give up but am addicted to

April 15, 2010 § 3 Comments

This is why plastic spoons are bad.  Lord knows I am not an advocate of washing the kind of dishes that you don’t throw away afterwards (the last time I lived with a real live mechanical dishwasher was 1989 in my parents’ house), but for God’s sakes we’ve got to stop using so much plastic!  My great guilt: Dan and I order in at least 5 nights a week.  What does all our take-out food come in?  Plastic.  I’m working on eliminating certain pieces of plastic from other parts of my life (it is a big job, let me tell you.)  But I can’t figure out what to do about take-out.  Because I can’t cook.  And I don’t think Dan would eat my food even if I managed to throw something together.  And I would have to get home before, I dunno, say, 8 pm every night in order to actually cook something.  Which would mean giving up tai chi, yoga, and my job.  I used to want to have kids just so I could be a stay-at-home mom.  But then I realized I would have to feed said kids.  So.  I don’t know what to do with all these take-out containers.  I could wash them out.  But then what?  Use them as tupperware, I guess, but I usually don’t bring my lunch to work because we have a pretty good cafeteria.  (I stopped using plastic utensils and takeout containers from the cafeteria.  I must say, my firm has a pretty good green track record about this kindof stuff.  They put a bus tub in the kitchen on my floor and I’ll I have to do is drop my dishes off there.  It’s ideal for a lazy person like me.  They made it easy not to use plastic.)  Anyways, if anyone has any idea what to do about take-out containers, please let me know.

And then there was this.  I confess I didn’t listen to it because I don’t like to turn the speakers on at work, so I don’t actually know what they’re talking about.  But I pieced it together: SJSU professor of some kind of computer photography thing saw a bankrobber and thwarted him with a bear hug grab.  My first thought was, Go Spartans!  Whoo hoo, SJSU!  My second thought was, that robber was a dumb ass.  Any yellow belt at New York Jiu Jitsu worth her salt could get out of that bear hug.  That guy oughta have his robber credentials revoked.  Did he even try rapping on the back on the professor’s hand with his knuckles?  Let alone the “Irish gig”?  Did he try grabbing the groin, pinching the inner thigh?  I’m not sure why I’m rooting for the robber.  I just got excited because I saw a grab I know how to get out of.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to As seen on Yahoo news, which I’ve tried to give up but am addicted to

  • Susan says:

    My goodness, Meg –what fun. I must enter this strange new electronic world more often! Love, S

  • Alaina says:

    That stuff about plastics is really depressing. I have the same situation with takeout containers! Well, I only get takeout twice a week, but it does seem very wasteful to throw away those containers. I think restaurants should allow people to bring their own containers when they pick-up food, or if they deliver maybe people could plate the food and then give the containers back? I guess that would bring up “sanitary” issues though. Well, one idea is also to only order takeout from places that use more eco-friendly containers.

    That’s funny about the bear hug. 🙂

  • cynthia says:

    Oh, yes, the urban take out guilt! It is such a joy to be able to order food any time we please, but to be burdened with the Big Fat Carbon Footprint sucks the joy right out of it! I don’t know what happened to the old fashioned paper boxes w/ handles all the chinese restaurants used to use – they were great and certainly more earth friendly.

    OK, so I wash them out and use them for tupperware, but that only works because I usually cook. So no help there for you. However – my sister lives in a place where there is no take out to speak of in Connecticut, and she is the host of some big meal for holidays. I bring her my excess containers so she can give out food to her guests as they leave. I have done the saving plastic cutlery in a big ziplock (they ALWAYS give you plastic even when you tell them please don’t…) and if I can remember before I get frustrated and throw the whole bag out because I’ve moved it to 15 different places, I will bring them to a park concert or bbq, then if they are thrown away there at least I tried…

    It’s all ridiculous isn’t it – we are victims of our convenience!

    Love your blog, Meg!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading As seen on Yahoo news, which I’ve tried to give up but am addicted to at Vintrowear.

meta

