New tai chi class starting on the UWS

April 12, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’m really enjoying my tai chi class at Long River Tai Chi on 100th St.  Unfortunately you don’t get to punch anyone, but on the upside, no one tries to punch you either.  The instructor seems really knowledgeable and well-read.  And it’s probably the most affordable martial arts class in NYC ($75 per month.)  For the first few months you can only take 1 class per week, but later on in the year you can take more, all for the the low, low price of $75 per month.  I went and took a class at William CC Chen, which everyone says is supposed to be like the premier tai chi school in NY, and they were like $300-something a month.  And everyone spoke in a whisper.  I couldn’t hear a damn thing.  However, they supposedly teach tai chi as a fighting art rather than sort of a moving mediation.  Long River is self-advowedly more on the moving meditation side of things than on the fighting side of things.  I also took a class at Chu Tai Chi.  They were a little more affordable.  I liked them.  But their classes all started way too early.  Who can be anywhere by 5:30 on a weekday?  Overall, I’m satisfied with my choice of Long River.  I really like the instructor, Lenny.  If we have to move away from the UWS, then maybe I will re-think my plan and try one of the other schools again.  For now, it ‘s good for my aching back not to be doing anything more martial.  And it’s not exactly a work-out, but it sure makes my thighs hurt, so I guess it’s doing something.

So, there’s a new class starting on April 15.  First class is a demo and it’s free.  After that it’s $75 per month.  The beginner program is a year long, but you pay by the month.  It’s on 100th and West End.  The people are really nice.  Class is on Thursdays at 7:00.  You should try it!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New tai chi class starting on the UWS at Vintrowear.

meta

